Categorized | Industry News

2013 South African Car Of The Year (COTY) Award Finalists

2013 South African Car Of The Year (COTY) Award Finalists

The 2013 South African Car of the Year (COTY) Finalists were announced on Monday the 29th of October, following a vote cast by 29 jury members belonging to the South African Guild Of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ).

The twelve finalists for the 2013 Wesbank COTY are:

2012 BMW 3 Series 320i Automatic
2012 Ford Ranger 3.2 XLT 4X4 Double Cab Diesel AT
2012 Hyundai i30 1.8 Executive
2012 Kia Rio 1.4 TEC Hatch MT
2012 Lexus GS 350 EX
2012 Mercedes-Benz B 180 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY
2012 Nissan Juke 1.6 DIG-T Tekna (Leather)
2012 Opel Meriva 1.4T Cosmo
2012 Porsche Boxster
2012 Range Rover Evoque Si4 Dynamic 5-door
2012 Toyota 86 High Spec 6MT
2012 Toyota Yaris 1.5 HSD Xs

The final winner will be determined from a two-day test session which will commence in February 2013 at the Gerotek test facility near Pretoria.

South Africa’s Car of the Year competition – sponsored for the past 28 years by WesBank, with additional support from Total and Hollard Insurance – is unique in the world in that it is determined by three rounds of voting. The first round of voting is open to all full members of the SAGMJ and yields the semi-finalists, where after a second round of voting, open to only the jury, determines the finalists.

Following the two-day test sessions at Gerotek, a final allocation of points by the jury is tallied and audited before an overall winner is announced.

A significant change to this year’s competition is the manner in which the COTY Jury was determined. Following a Car of the Year workshop held earlier this year, the Jury is no longer compiled from those SAGMJ members who had the greatest exposure to the eligible model ranges (by means of launch events and test cars). Instead, after casting a vote in the first round, each member had the opportunity to vote for 25 of his or her peers to serve on the Jury. The members with the most votes – to a maximum of 30 members – were co-opted onto the COTY Jury.

While all of the models are deemed to represent examples of outstanding automotive engineering, there can be only one winner and, in the eyes of the COTY Jury, that model will epitomise all-round automotive excellence. The winner of the 2013 WesBank / SAGMJ Car the Year will be revealed at a gala banquet in March 2013.

Follow me on TwitterFollow me on InstagramAdd me to your circlesRSS FeedFriend me on Facebook

New Audi TT S

Ken Block Spied Filming Gymkhana 7

@autometh On Instagram

BMW M4 with Akrapovic Exhaust

NEW 2015 Mercedes-AMG GT